Manchester United End Of Season Awards 2012-13


By Lee Savery.

The traditional end of season awards took place on Wednesday evening to honour the individual performances of certain individuals in the Manchester United squad at every age level.

Robin van Persie won the Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year award. The award, voted by the fans, is of no surprise as the fans have taken to Van Persie so quickly after a superb début season. His 29 goals have been vital in the club regaining their Premier League crown. Van Persie’s second goal against Aston Villa, on the crowning night, won the Goal of the Season award.

The players themselves gave Michael Carrick their Player of the Year award. A popular member of the squad, his team mates recognise the importance of the England international to their performances this season. The playmaker thoroughly deserves the recognition of his colleagues, something the fans have also gave him in giving him his own terrace song. Yes, we cannot believe it’s not Scholes!

Adnan Januzaj was voted the Reserve player of the Year. Januzaj has been a regular for the Under 21’s this season, who will face Tottenham Hotspur in the Under-21 final, and his performances have seen him tipped for greatness by Sir Alex Ferguson. A sign of this was in Januzaj being given a first team squad number earlier this month. The Belgian, signed from Anderlecht in 2011, is a creative midfield player who has similar attributes to Shinji Kagawa. Expect to see his name in the first team in the next few years.

Midfielder Ben Pearson took home the Young Player of the Year award. Some have compared him to Paul Scholes due to his excellent ability in moving the ball. The 2011/12 season saw a fever halt his progress but this season he has made 14 appearances at Under 18 level. He also scored his first goal at that level this season.

Congratulations to all winners.

Full list of award winners:

Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year – Robin Van Persie

Players’ Player of the Year – Michael Carrick

Goal of the Season – Robin Van Persie (2nd v Aston Villa)

Denzil Haroun award for Best Reserve player – Adnan Januzaj

Jimmy Murphy Young Player of the Year – Ben Pearson

Share your thoughts with the Stretford End Arising forum HERE.

Subscribe via Email

Subscribe to our free email newsletter and never miss a post!

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

I will never give away, trade or sell your email address. You can unsubscribe at any time.

1 Comment

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.