Tom Cleverley | Match Performance Thread

Status
Not open for further replies.

Scholesy18

Premier League footballers unwind in different ways, some less respectable than others. Manchester United's England Under 21 midfielder Tom Cleverley likes a game of snooker in an unpretentious club in south Manchester. He currently is on loan at Wigan Athletic, where his profile is much lower than at United.

"I was playing snooker last week when one of the regulars at the club came over," Cleverley said in a part-Mancunian, part-Yorkshire accent. "He had no idea what I did for a living and said, 'You're pretty decent. Do you fancy playing with the snooker team on a Tuesday night?' I laughed, said thanks and told him that I had other commitments."

Cleverley, 21, is unlikely to benefit from such anonymity much longer. His value continues to rise, though an agreement between the two clubs means that he will not be playing for Wigan against United at Old Trafford tomorrow in their Premier League clash.

Full article: Full: Tom Cleverley: the rapid rise of United's next star - The National

Very good read. Ive never been more excited about someone at this club for a while. There is something more special about a player coming through the ranks at the club than a signing. Its reported Ferguson holds back on some signings because of his development and he may even come back in January.. I watch Wigan's games especially to see him and just get more impressed.

I do hope Tom can continue to develop as I see in his play reminders of a young Paul Scholes and Wesley Sneijder. If he can then we could have the perfect attacking central midfield player to replace Paul. It depends on how long Paul continues to play to his high standards and how quickly Tom can become a complete footballer.

He def is the real deal...This guy and the hopes of anderson coming good as an AM, almost makes up for losing Scholes..